AMA: Ask the Spook

Here, you're welcome to start a thread for others to ask you anything they might want to know about you! Within reason, of course!
Spook of the lost

AMA: Ask the Spook

Post by Spook of the lost »

I'm a government tech support contractor who studies science, engineering, electronics, the paranormal, tinkers with various things, scraps old hardware for parts/modifies into stuff and occasionally works on stellar cartography in his free time.
I also occasionally write science fiction given the old saying, write what you know.
My heroes are Tesla, Einstein, Von Braun, Elon musk, and DaVinci.

AMA, Ask me Anything, I'll answer to the best of my ability, you may be surprised by the answers.
word count: 81
"He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you." - Friedrich Nietzsche
Juneberry
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Juneberry »

You have quite a lot of hobbies I'd love to see sometime! But for now, my question is: What got you into working with tech?
word count: 26
Spook of the lost

a combination of a family of techies and a passing interest in tinkering with stuff, seeing how it works.
my grandmother assembled motherboards back in the 1980's.
my mother worked tech support and bought me my first computer.
my Uncle always sorta kludged together stuff.
I had a childhood friend who was a programmer back in elementary school as well.
it wasn't long until I became curious and started poking around with stuff and seeing how it worked.
combine that with a love for puzzles and it you can kinda see how it happened.
however it wasn't until about 10 or 12 years ago that I started to really get into it hard core when I tried to upgrade that first computer, bent the pins on the CPU, fixed them, and had to re-assemble everything, it all became clear after that and ever since I've always been trying to find new challenges
word count: 157